You are here: My Council » About Council » History
The Council of the City of Shoalhaven was proclaimed on 1st August, 1979. 

On the 1st July, 1948 the Council of the Shire of Shoalhaven was formed by amalgamating the following Councils: 
  • Nowra Municipal Council 
  • Berry Municipal Council 
  • South Shoalhaven Municipal Council 
  • Broughton Vale Municipal Council 
  • Cambewarra Shire Council 
  • Clyde Shire Council 
  • Ulladulla Municipal Council
For the history of Local Government prior to 1948 view this fact sheet (PDF 39kb). 

A history of the elected representatives (PDF 33kb) is also available.